Online Judging Opportunity–Deadline Extended

We have an opportunity to judge English and Spanish Emmy® Entries for the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter.  This is a great opportunity to see what your peers in other markets are doing, and also to learn how entries are judged. When you submit your Emmy® Entry, you are agreeing to judge other chapters’ entries. Without this reciprocity, there would be no Emmy® Awards. Judges will receive one judging reward per panel judged (some panels may contain multiple categories). Judging rewards are valued at $5- each, and can be used towards membership renewal, Emmy® Entry submissions, and next year’s Emmy® Gala tickets.

Below are the online panels, with the categories, number of entries and TRT for the panels:

Qualified judges need a minimum of 2 years of experience in the field of television to participate. To become a judge, please email with the name of the panel(s) that you’re qualified and willing to judge, and you’ll be sent a link to the judging web site, along with detailed instructions, and a login code. You will then create a judging profile and view the entries online in the comfort of your home or office. Judging does not have to be completed in one sitting; you may start and stop as needed. The deadline to complete online judging is Sunday, July 27th.

Categories # of Entries Total Time
2A3A – Newscast – Daytime or Evening-Larger Markets 1-40 8 04:07:51
2B3B – Newscast – Daytime or Evening-Medium Markets 41-80 4 01:34:32
22AB – Politics/Government-News Single Story/Feature 12 00:56:27
26A – Sports – News Single Story 9 0:31:43
26E-Sports – Program Feature/Segment  6 0:30:00
26EF – Sports – Daily or Weekly Program 10 03:02:34
26J- Sports – One Time Speical 11 4:23:56
27 – Sporting Event/Game – Live/Unedited 8 03:35:44
29D – Weather – News Weathercast 4 00:32:47
30A – Documentary – Cultural 5 O2:45:51
42A – Commercial – Single Spot 23 00:13:39
52A – Editor – Program (Non-News) 22 03:46:23
52B – Editor – Short Form (Promos, PSA’s, Commercials, Opens, etc.) 16 00:35:42
52C – Editor – News – Within 24 Hours 4 O0:29:00
56B – On-Camera Talent – Anchor – Weather 4 O0:27:48
56C – On-Camera Talent Anchors – Sports  4 O0:35:47
56E – On-Camera Talent – Performer/Narrator 6 01:02:54
56F – On-Camera Talent – Program Host/Moderator 5 00:53:29
SPANISH NEWS 7 0:58:00
SPANISH CRAFT 12 2:36:00

40th Anniversary Emmy® Awards TV Schedule

If you were unable to attend to attend the Pacific Southwest Emmy® Awards on Saturday, June 14th, you can still watch all glamour and excitement on Cox.  An edited, 2-hour version of the 2014 Emmy® Awards will be televised on Cox, in the following markets:

San Diego
On Cox Channels 4 and 1004:
-Saturday, July 12th at 7:00 pm

Santa Barbara
On Cox Channel 8:
-Monday, July 7th at 9:30am
-Wednesday, July 9th at 9:30am
-Monday, July 14th at 9:30am
-Wednesday, July 16th at 9:30am

Las Vegas
On Cox Channels 96 and 1096:
-Monday, July 7th at 5pm
-Monday, July 14th at 7pm
-Wednesday, July 23rd at 10am
-Thursday, July 31st at 10am

Major Milestone in Daytime Emmy® Awards History

Great news about the Daytime Emmy Awards!  The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced that the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards will be shared with both a national and global audience via livestream when the ceremony takes place on Sunday, June 22.

This is the first time in its history that the prestigious organization will be utilizing this platform to broadcast the awards show, and it does so in the hopes that audiences around the world will be able to engage in an event which celebrates programs that are known internationally and boast a global fan base. The 41st Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards, which will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, will be available for viewing live at beginning at 5:00pm on June 22. Emmy® Awards will be handed out for twenty-five categories, including several new ones announced this year.

NATAS will also be connecting with viewers through their social media platforms, enlisting the help of several social media ambassadors to capture special moments on-site and share them via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Vine and YouTube.

“We are so thrilled to be sharing the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards with a global audience in such an innovative and contemporary fashion,” said Malachy Wienges, Chairman of NATAS. “We are confident that the expert team we’ve brought on will flawlessly execute an evening that celebrates the outstanding talent being honored and allows fans to be a part of the action.”

Wienges brought on some of the industry’s finest production, social media and public relations partners to produce the 2014 Daytime Emmy® Awards and help see the ceremony through its first web-based broadcast. Spike Jones, Jr and SJ2 Entertainment will be producing the live show at the Beverly Hilton with Terry D. Peterson, Owner, Artistic Director, Verite Productions, Inc. Paul Colichman and HERE Media will handle all aspects of social media for the event, and Slate PR, led by Andy Gelb, has been appointed the Agency of Record for the 2014 Daytime Emmy® Awards.

The Daytime Emmy® Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00am – 6:00pm during the 2013 calendar year. The 41st Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in cooperation with The Television Academy (ATAS).

A full list of all nominees in all categories can be downloaded at

Credential applications are now being accepted for the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards. Applications can be filled out at

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 13,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at www.emmyonline.tvFor more information, please visit the website at

Your New NATAS-PSW Governors

The results are in for the 2014-2015 NATAS-PSW Board of Governors election.  Congratulations to our newly-elected Governors:

  • Gregg Baker, Palomar College
  • Mitch Blacher, ABC 10 San Diego
  • Kristen Castillo, Freelance Writer, Editor, Producer
  • Colleen Cole-Velasquez, Pulse Media International
  • Jaffa King, NBC7 San Diego
  • Gerard Ramalho, KSNV Las Vegas
  • David Reese, KMIR Palm Springs
  • Gabriel Soltero, One America News Network

Also, welcome to Kent Kay, KESQ Palm Springs, who has recently joined the Board of Governors as a midterm replacement.

NATAS-PSW would like to thank our departing Governors Art Axtell, Manny DeLa Rosa, Mike Kurtz, Deb Lawrence, Jerry McCormick, Steve Quis, and Sammie Jo Swift for their service to the Chapter.

Thank you to all of our members who took the time to participate in the election of our Board of Governors.