Tag Archive for: NATAS-PSW elections

2020 NATAS PSW BOG Nominations

The Board of Governors is the parliamentary governing body which oversees the functioning of each of the Chapters that comprise The National Television Academy.  The Governors are entrusted with administering the Chapters and for safeguarding the integrity of the Emmy® brand and the Emmy® Awards process.  
Governors are elected by the general membership of each Chapter from its active members. 
Governors may serve two consecutive two-year terms.

The duties of a Governor include the following:

•To attend a general meeting each month of the Board of Governors to discuss and vote on matters of importance to the Academy.

•To act as a conduit to and from the television community on matters affecting the Chapter and the community.

•To chair or serve actively on at least one Committee.*

•To participate actively in the production of at least one Chapter program or activity each year and to attend as many Chapter functions as possible.

•To serve as a judge and recruit others to judge the Emmy entries from other Chapters of The National Academy.

•To recruit new members of the Chapter.

•To perform whatever other duties are required to maintain the integrity, well-being, and efficient functioning of the Television Academy Chapter.

* The Standing Committees of the Pacific Southwest Chapter include: Activities, Area Awards, Communications, Internet, Legal, Chapter Stations, Membership and Education/Scholarship. There are also several ad hoc committees including Nominations, Television History and Silver/Gold Circle.

Help us continue over 46 years of excellence by running for the NATAS-PSW Board of Governors!

If you’d like to run for the June ’20 – June ’22 term, contact the chapter office at [email protected] to put your name on the ballot.

2015 Silver Circle Inductees

The Board of Governors of the NATAS Pacific Southwest Chapter announces the 2015 Silver Circle Inductees:

Geni Cavitt

Cynthia Farham

John Finn

Kurt Rivera

Deborah Shaw Lawrence

Fred Swift

Charles Westerheide

The Silver Circle is open to individuals who began their careers in television at least 25 years ago either in a performing, creative, technical, or administrative role within our industry, or in an area related to television, such as TV journalism education, advertising, promotion, and public relations and are still active in a television-related field.

All candidates have also made a significant contribution to the Pacific Southwest Television for a substantial portion of their 25-year career.  Since it was established in 1983, the Silver Circle has 274 members. The Gold Circle, which honors members who have contributed most of their 50-year plus television career to our Pacific Southwest Chapter, has 25 members.

See the list of recipients for the Silver and Gold Circle, respectively.

This year’s Silver Circle induction:

Sunday September 20, 2015
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
2000 Spindrift Drive
La Jolla, CA 92037

Ticket Buy Now

Announcing NATAS-PSW’s New Board of Governors


The results are in for the 2015-2017 NATAS-PSW Board of Governors election. Congratulations to our newly-elected Governors and those who have been elected for another term:

Timothy Kiley, KESQ Palm Springs
Casey Nakamura, Herring Networks
Alfred Molo, One America News Network
MaryEllen Eagelston, NBC7 San Diego
Karin Ingrande, The Salvation Army
Greg Penetrante, San Diego State University
Mike Towe, M2 Digital Post
Yalda Sharifie, Yalda Media
Dan Ball, KMIR Palm Springs

NATAS-PSW would like to thank our outgoing Governors Craig Bentley, Kevin Bolinger, Jeffrey Byle, Kent Kay, Ena Newell, Mark Rosenberg, and Tom Zizzi for their service to the Chapter.

Thank you to all of our members who took the time to participate in the election of our Board of Governors.

2015 NATAS PSW Board of Governors Election is Now Open!

The 2015 NATAS PSW Board of Governors Election is Now Open!

You have the opportunity to select the men and women who will set policy and plan activities for the Pacific Southwest Chapter for the year to come.  It’s time for the annual election of Governors. Once again, the election will be held online–be sure to cast your vote immediately.   Please whitelist [email protected] to be sure you receive your voting link, log on and password via email.   Voting instructions were sent May 15th, but reminders will be sent before the polls close.

All active members were sent voting instructions.  If you haven’t received yours, please contact the Chapter Office at [email protected] to verify your email address. The deadline to cast your ballot is 9 p.m. PDT Friday, May 29, 2015.

Your New NATAS-PSW Governors

The results are in for the 2014-2015 NATAS-PSW Board of Governors election.  Congratulations to our newly-elected Governors:

  • Gregg Baker, Palomar College
  • Mitch Blacher, ABC 10 San Diego
  • Kristen Castillo, Freelance Writer, Editor, Producer
  • Colleen Cole-Velasquez, Pulse Media International
  • Jaffa King, NBC7 San Diego
  • Gerard Ramalho, KSNV Las Vegas
  • David Reese, KMIR Palm Springs
  • Gabriel Soltero, One America News Network

Also, welcome to Kent Kay, KESQ Palm Springs, who has recently joined the Board of Governors as a midterm replacement.

NATAS-PSW would like to thank our departing Governors Art Axtell, Manny DeLa Rosa, Mike Kurtz, Deb Lawrence, Jerry McCormick, Steve Quis, and Sammie Jo Swift for their service to the Chapter.

Thank you to all of our members who took the time to participate in the election of our Board of Governors.